A Mind Needs Books

“My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer and I have my mind…and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone if it is to keep its edge. That’s why I read so much Jon Snow.”

Tyrion Lannister, A Game of Thrones

One should always strive for self-improvement, and reading is, dare I say, fundamental to that cause. Unfortunately, over the last six years as I’ve gotten further along this crazy journey of life and parenting, I’ve found myself reading less than I ever have before averaging maybe two or three books every year. I’ve recently set-out to rectify this situation, lest my mind lose its edge, by dedicating myself to reading a biography of Winston Churchill Hero of the Empire. I got the book as a gift over a year ago, and it has sat on my bookshelf gathering dust ever since!

I started in early December, making slow progress here and there, but this week I’ve made sure to sit down to read at least 10-12 pages each night, and it just so happens that each chapter is about that length!. I’m currently on page 66 and the book is listed at 400 pages, but that includes the acknowledgements, index, and sourcing etc starting on page 321. That leaves me with 254 pages to go, which should put me on pace to finish by the end of January. A book a month over the course of this year would be a huge improvement over my recent average, even though ol’ Winston might scoff at such a pedestrian goal!

I’ll lay out some of my other goals in future posts, and hopefully keep all five of you who read this blog updated along the way.

Also, don’t forget to like/follow the Trails and Tributaries Facebook page as well since I often share interesting articles and videos there that don’t make it into a blog post.

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a comment